BPT 2022: Karunanithi.S Wins ₹15K PLO Turbo For ₹4.30 Lakhs (3-Way Deal)

A software engineer by profession, 32-year-old Karunanithi S (cover image) from Chennai will remember Tuesday morning as one of the most career-defining days of his poker career. One of the 175 entrants that registered for the last event of the 2022 Baazi Poker Tour, 15K PLO Turbo, Karunanithi, cut his way past the competition to the shiny BPT trophy and ₹4.30 Lakhs.

The last three players cut a deal, keeping only the trophy in play. Vikaash Shah pocketed a better ₹4.75 Lakhs in second place, while Nikhil Arora collected ₹4.10 Lakhs in third place, courtesy of the deal.

After winning the event, Karunanithi said, “I started the game with a different mindset. I had lost a big chunk of my bankroll. So I told myself that I have to prove something here to boost my confidence. While the payouts of the 15K PLO Turbo weren’t so great, I thought I would give it a shot…I just stuck to my basics, and things worked my way.”

Karunanithi first discovered poker after watching a documentary on the game on YouTube featuring top pros like Daniel Negreanu. He was impressed to see how professional players followed the game with commitment and focus while enjoying a healthy lifestyle. He soon studied more about the game and started playing online on PokerBaazi. By chance, he learned about the PokerBaazi LIVE-hosted BPT and decided to attend the series.

The event had a delayed start. It was scheduled for 5 PM on Sunday but started at 5.45 PM and ran alongside Day 2 of the Main Event. The entry field generated a 24.53 Lakhs prize pool, and 23 places got paid with a min-cash worth 23,100.

The banker turned poker pro Kunal Patni money bubbled the event in 24th place, leaving the remaining 23 players in the money.

Deepak Agarwal`s ninth-place elimination set up the eight-handed final table.

One of the finalists was the NPS #83 – Main Event champion Chirag Sodha. He bubbled the 35K Main Event and jumped straight into the ₹15K PLO Turbo. And he did well to finish fifth for ₹1.18 Lakhs.

Karunanithi S

Final Table Results (INR)

  1. Karunanithi S – ₹4,29,500*
  2. Vikaash Shah – ₹4,75,000*
  3. Nikhil Arora – ₹4,09,500*
  4. Akash Panka – ₹1,53,000
  5. Chirag Sodha – ₹1,18,000
  6. Prateek Sharma – ₹97,939
  7. Bishan Gurung – ₹83,400
  8. Deepak Singh – ₹73,661

*denotes a three-way deal

With the PLO Turbo now in the books, all eyes are on the BPT Main Event final table scheduled to begin at noon tomorrow on a 15-minute live stream.

Keep following PokerGuru for all the latest updates from the 2022 Baazi Poker Tour!

Author: Bradley Watson