Having a look Again At The Illustrious Historical past of the Poker Gamers Championship

The $10,000 buy-in International Collection of Poker (WSOP) Primary Tournament is also the event each budding poker participant desires of profitable, however the $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship bracelet is the only the seasoned pros need of their trophy cupboard.

The inaugural match used to be known as the $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. International Championship. It introduced in 2006 as used to be the biggest buy-in event of any International Collection of Poker till the advent of the $1 million buy-in Large One for One Drop in 2012.

2021 WSOP Are living Reporting Hub

Practice all of the live-action because it occurs from the 2021 International Collection of Poker in Las Vegas!

David “Chip” Reese received the inaugural $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. after defeating Andy Bloch heads-up. Reese received $1,716,000 that day plus his 3rd WSOP bracelet. It will be the final bracelet Reese would win as a result of he gave up the ghost in 2007.

Freddy Deeb emerged victoriously from the 2007 event after outlasting 147 of the arena’s best possible blended recreation gamers, together with Bruno Fitoussi heads-up. The $2,276,832 Deeb won for his victory remains to be the biggest prize awarded on this event.

Scotty Nguyen
Scotty Nguyen used to be victorious in 2008

The following two years noticed Scotty Nguyen and David Bach triumph within the $50,00 H.O.R.S.E. Nguyen topped a field of 148 and walked away with $1,989,120, whilst Bach’s $1,276,802 payday got here after coming out on top of a 95-strong field.

Transfer To The Poker Gamers Championship

Michael Mizrachi
Michael Mizrachi received the inaugural Poker Gamers Championship

The WSOP modified codecs in 2010 when the Poker Gamers Championship changed the H.O.R.S.E. match. The sport rely higher from 5 to 8, and it used to be Michael Mizrachi who won the inaugural event, which noticed all the ultimate desk performed as No-Restrict Grasp’em to attraction to tv audience.

Brian Rast defeated Phil Hellmuth heads-up within the 2011 edition, earlier than Mizrachi won his second Poker Players Championship in 2012.

British blended recreation specialist Matthew Ashton received the 2013 Poker Players Championship with John Hennigan profitable in 2014 after beating Brandon Shack-Harris within the heads-up level.

The development had two new video games (badugi and no-limit 2-7 unmarried draw) added to its rotation in 2015, but it surely proved unpopular with handiest 84 gamers purchasing in, the lowest-ever attendance on the time. Mike Gordinsky used to be the last man standing in 2015, a consequence that netted him $1,270,086.

Brian Rast
Brian Rast received the $50K PPC for the second one time in 2016

Rast joined Mizrachi within the double-winners membership when he used to be topped the 2016 Poker Players Championship champion; the event reverted to an eight-game combine.

Elior Sion were given his palms at the Chip Reese Memorial Trophy in 2017. Sion used to be down to simply 60,000 chips on the 25,000/50,000 degree however recovered to write his name into poker’s history books.

Mizrachi did the unthinkable in 2018 and won the Poker Players Championship for the third time. “The Grinder” helped himself to the $1,239,126 best prize and the fourth WSOP bracelet of his occupation.

The final time the Poker Players Championship took place was in 2019 since the 2020 version fell sufferer to the COVID-19 pandemic. This implies Phil Hui is the reigning champion after he crowned a 74-player box final day trip.

Earlier $50,000 H.O.R.S.E./Poker Participant Championship Winners

Yr Tournament Identify Entrants Winner Prize
2006 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 143 David “Chip” Reese $1,716,000
2007 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 148 Freddy Deeb $2,276,832
2008 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 148 Scotty Nguyen $1,989,120
2009 $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. 95 David Bach $1,276,802
2010 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 116 Michael Mizrachi $1,559,046
2011 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 128 Brian Rast $1,720,328
2012 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 108 Michael Mizrachi $1,451,527
2013 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 132 Matthew Ashton $1,774,089
2014 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 102 John Hennigan $1,517,767
2015 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 84 Mike Gordinsky $1,270,086
2016 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 91 Brian Rast $1,296,097
2017 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 100 Elior Sion $1,395,767
2018 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 87 Michael Mizrachi $1,239,126
2019 $50,000 Poker Players Championship 74 Phil Hui $1,099,311

Who Will Win The 2021 $50,000 Poker Gamers Championship?

The 2021 edition of the Poker Players Championship shuffles up and deal at 3:00 p.m. native time on October 31. It’s scheduled to run over 5 days, and PokerNews’ reside reporting group might be available from the primary playing cards being pitched to the champion being topped.

Who do you suppose will win the development? Can Mizrachi win the event for the fourth time, or will Rast sign up for Mizrachi within the triple winner’s membership? Don’t write of Phil Hellmuth’s possibilities of glory since the 16-time bracelet winner’s non-hold’em video games have come on in leaps and boundaries; Hellmuth completed 2d in 2011.

Author: Bradley Watson